Otohiko Kaga

Otohiko Kaga 加賀乙彦

Otohiko Kaga  (1929–)  studied psychiatry and criminology at the University of Tokyo Medical School. He worked in a hospital and then in a prison before going to study in France in 1957. After returning to Japan in 1960, Kaga took up university teaching in addition to writing several novels based on his time in France, including Arechi o tabi suru monotachi (Travelers through the Wasteland) and Furandoru no fuyu (Winter in Flanders), the latter winning the Ministry of Education Award for New Artists in 1968. He has been a full-time writer since 1979. His novel Kaerazaru natsu (A Summer Long Gone), about the tragic consequences of a young man's militaristic indoctrination during World War II, garnered the Tanizaki Jun'ichiro Prize in 1974. Other major awards include the 1979 Japan Literature Grand Prize for Senkoku (The Verdict) and the 1985 Osaragi Jiro Prize for Shitsugen (The Marsh).

Books by Otohiko Kaga
  • Book

    Takayama Ukon

    Takayama Ukon, the devoutly Christian lord of Akashi (in present-day Hyogo Prefecture), is a warrior and tea master widely esteemed for military and artistic accomplishments alike. But his refusal to renounce his faith in obeisance to Toyotomi Hideyoshi, …