Fumiko Enchi

Fumiko Enchi 円地文子

Fumiko Enchi  (1905–1986)  was born in Tokyo to the family of a prominent Japanese philologist, and familiarized herself with classical Japanese literature from an early age. She started writing plays in the 1920s and turned to novels soon afterwards, continuing to write varied and ambitious works until her death. In addition to writing novels like Himojii tsukihi (Days of Hunger) and Onnazaka (tr. The Waiting Years) that subtly portray women's emotions and sexual desires, she drew upon her knowledge of classical Japanese to create many works filled with the beauty and mystique of old Japan, among them Namamiko monogatari (tr. A Tale of False Fortunes). She is also known for her modern Japanese translation of the 11th-century classic The Tale of Genji. Enchi became a member of the Japan Art Academy in 1970 and was awarded the Order of Culture in 1985. Her awards include the 1954 Women's Literature Prize for Himojii tsukihi, the 1957 Noma Prize for Literature for The Waiting Years, the 1966 Women's Literature Prize for A Tale of False Fortunes, and the 1969 Tanizaki Jun'ichiro Prize for Niji to shura (Rainbow and Frenzy) and two related autobiographical novels.

Books by Fumiko Enchi
  • Book

    The Waiting Years

    This masterpiece by prominent post?World War II female novelist Fumiko Enchi won the Noma Prize for Literature in 1957. It is the Meiji era (1868?1912). Tomo, the daughter of a former low-ranking samurai, marries a high-ranking bureaucrat, Yukitomo Shira …