The Angel's Fangs

« Back to list
The Angel's Fangs
Author: Arimasa Ōsawa
Specifications: ISBN  978-4041671153
357 pages
10.6 x 14.8 cm / 4.2 x 5.9 in (WxH)
Category: Fiction
Publisher: Kadokawa Corporation
Tokyo, 1995
Volumes: Vol.1-2
Print logo
Volume Titles ISBN Pages Year
1 Part 1 978-4041671153 357 1998
2 Part 2 978-4041671160 438 1998
Buy now:


An already powerful crime syndicate is increasing its sway by expanding the market for a new kind of stimulant known as "afterburner." The syndicate, suspected of having a mole within the police force, is headed by autocratic kingpin Tatsuro Kimikuni. One day, Kimikuni's mistress Hatsumi Kanzaki seeks protective custody from the police. Intrepid female cop Asuka Kono is quietly ordered to bring Kanzaki in, and meets her at a hotel in a regional city, but sniper fire from a helicopter leaves both women hovering between life and death. In strictest secrecy, a brain transplant is performed, placing Kono's brain in Kanzaki's body. Kono's brain is initially thrown by the physical weakness of the body she has inherited, but she goes through a period of rehabilitation therapy and is discharged from the hospital. Fully adopting Kanzaki's identity, Kono begins acting as a decoy to bring down the criminal group.

Kazumasa Furuyoshi was Kono's partner both on the force and in love. Still grieving Kono's death, he takes on the task of protecting Kanzaki (with Kono's brain) in order to get close to the hated Kimikuni and extract his revenge. But in the course of protecting her from the syndicate's evil clutches, he finds himself developing feelings for Kanzaki. Then, in spite of Furuyoshi's best efforts, Kanzaki is taken captive and imprisoned in a fortress-like villa. He swings into action to rescue her, and when he finally succeeds in bringing down Kimikuni and his syndicate and saving her, he is astonished to learn from Kanzaki's own mouth that she is in fact Kono.

A police conspiracy further adds to the suspense in this fast-paced, hardboiled drama mixing action and romance.

(Vol. 1) ISBN 978-4041671153

(Vol. 2) ISBN 978-4041671160